Macritchie – at last!

So – I finally got to run at Macritchie reservoir.

It was mostly a great experience, so here we go.  I arrived after 4pm on a Sunday and it was a bit busy, but not too bad.

I brought a change of clothes because I read up about lockers on the NParks Website. Sure enough there were plenty of lockers and require 1SG$

If you’re used to HK coin-op lockers BE WARNED – 1$ per use and your dollar is gone baby gone. (HK lockers are 5HK$ and you can get your 5$ back!)

Bummer for me because I only had one 1$ coin. So I just wiped myself down and sprayed deo after and got changed. I did intend to have a shower – well next time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The landscaping and change area is beautiful – and there is a nice shady area to stretch and chill, warm up and down or wait for friends to turn up if you’re in a group. Off I went in what was a counter-clockwise direction.  I was going to the Tree-Top Walk. The start skirts the Reservoir and goes past a rowing club.

After this I just followed the signs all the way to the treetop walk.  It is pretty flat, so it is similar to doing school cross country in the summer. But there is nice jungle, I saw a monitor lizard ( <> 1M long) , a couple of squirrels, and a lot of monkeys (see pics). Nice monkeys compared to the evil evil HK monkeys!

It was 5KM <> to the treetop walk from the changing rooms/lockers.  Kindly note that NO RUNNING IS PERMITTED on the treetop walk. The Treetop Walk Nazi is there to make sure of that.  I was permitted to walk briskly – thank you tree top walk nazi!

So it is a cinch getting back to the changing rooms after the treetop walk.  After the descending steps, just turn left and follow the signs.  Soon you’ll get back on the trail / road you used to get to the tree top walk and follow your nose.  All up it was around 12KM – And I strictly obeyed the tree top walk nazi, so I walked where I was told I had to.

Needless to say, the return to the changing rooms was a quick run and a breeze.

A great jaunt – strongly recommended.

Summary: Great, fast jungle run, but perhaps I went at a peak time – so too many walkers for my liking.

+ Great fun and good variety after running on HK trails all the time.

– Singaporeans on the trail – while being polite, have no trail sense or etiquette. Not rude mind you – just obtuse.

An early morning run is strongly recommended to avoid crowds.

Plenty more trails to explore here too.  As Arnie said in the Terminator, “I’ll be back”.

Leave a Reply

